Kai Sushi & Skinnie Piggy

Dinner last night
Friday is often Ian and my date night so we plan to go out for dinner and dessert and then relax afterwards (because we’re an old couple :P). We hadn’t been out for sushi in awhile and feeling a bit daring, we decided to look for a new sushi spot to check out. I did a little yelp searching and found Kai Sushi, a restaurant with great reviews that was not too far away. Awesome.

On a suggestion from a yelp user, I made a reservation. Likewise as Kai Sushi is BYOB, it was suggested that we stop at the liquor store next door to pick up a bottle of wine. The liquor store was overpriced (probably caters to sushi customers grumble grumble) but we managed to find a decently priced bottle of chardonnay. This was totally necesary after a long week!

The restaurant was pretty empty when we walked in and it because obvious that we need a reservation. In addition, sushi menus and a golf pencil were given to us to place our order. Not exactly what we were expecting but we went with it.

To start we each had a small ginger salad.

It tasted very fresh and the ginger dressing was light and flavorful. We also ordered three rolls to share.

The Flaming VIP. They actually lit the dish around the roll on fire. I tried to catch a picture of it but I was too late. Boo 😦

We also had a Crunchy roll (pictured in the back) and the West Town Roll.

My favorite by far was the crunchy roll. I’m not a big fan of tempura shrimp but I do love rolls that are covered in tempura crumbs!

After dinner they brought us a few pieces of orange to cleanse our palate. I’ve never seen a sushi restaurant do this before but it was really refreshing!

Ian brought home an extra Sprinkles cupcake from work that I knew would be dessert but I was in the mood for more variety so I begged asked Ian to stop at Skinnie Piggy a smaller, local bakery to pick up another cupcake. We ended up picking up two cupcakes, a Salted Caramel & Toasted Almond and a Strawberry Dreams (to have another night).

Salted Caramel on the left and Vanilla on the right

Split halfsies

Seems like Sonic wanted a little cupcake as well 😛

After a glass or two three of wine and a full belly I was happy to just lay on the couch and watch some Netflix.

Breakfast
I woke up really early due to a crazy cat and could not fall back asleep- really 6:30 on a Saturday? Due to the food fest last night I wasn’t hungry right away so I read some e-mails and hung out for an hour or so waiting for my hunger to strike. Once it did I decided to make oatmeal for breakfast.

I took inspiration from The Healthy Everytingtarian and made her Banana Custard Oats. I changed the recipe a bit by using two egg whites instead of an egg, only half of a mashed banana (need to save the rest for Ian!) and I added raisins in with the banana (iron!). These oats were fantastic! So pillowy and light. I’m in oat heaven right now 🙂

The oats look sad without any toppings right?

I topped mine with maple pecan cereal (crunch!) and some sunflower seed butter. I also brewed dunkin donuts pumpkin coffee but had to have it with 2% milk. Here’s to hoping my stomach doesn’t retaliate too much later.

Yum, I could eat this for breakfast every morning. It was just that good!

Plans for the day include watching Michigan football, doing some homework and then meeting up with friends later. Have a great Saturday morning!

2 thoughts on “Kai Sushi & Skinnie Piggy

Leave a comment