Long Wednesday + Baked Polenta

I woke up stupid early this morning to fit in a swim and Jillian’s shred all before I left the apartment at 8 for work. As ridiculously hard as it was to get out of bed, on days when I am on campus until almost dinnertime its nice not having to worry about fitting a work out in when I get home.

Swimming 1800 yards and “shredding” left me with 30 minutes to get ready and out the door. In my opinion this is the perfect amount of time to shower, brush my teeth etc., take care of the furbaby, and make coffee. Of course, the only way I actually get ready in 30 minutes is if I pack my breakfast, lunch, and school bag all the night before.

This morning I even managed to have some cereal as a snack before I headed out the door (I was soo hungry!). I had some Panda Puffs with Almond Milk in a wine glass. I keep it classy at 7 am!

I had real breakfast at my desk at the office- overnight oats in an almost empty yogurt container.

In the mix-

  • Less than 1/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 small banana
  • spoonfull of chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup pomegranite kefir
  • cinnamon
  • shake pumpkin pie spice

I topped it with some granola.

Work seemed to fly by this afternoon and I only needed a couple of pretzels to get me through to lunch.

Lunch satisfied my cravings for vegetables. I had a salad with wasabi arugala (buy this now at TJs), heirloom baby tomatoes, mushrooms, and crumbled tempeh. I used TJs Peanut Vinaigrette as dressing.

So satisfying.

I also had an apple pear- not sure how I feel about these.. it had an interesting tecture and not much taste

And I grabbed some candy from the office’s left-over Halloween candy bowl

I worked for a couple more hours and then headed over to Biostats class. We got out early and I went back to work where I had a sample mini clif bar to hold me over until dinner.

I had received this clif bar in my Chicago Marathon Expo bag and knowing that so many people love Clif Bars, I threw it in my backpack for an emergency snack. Yuck! I did not like this bar. Maybe it’s the flavor? Or the fact thats its a mini version? All I know is that I will be sticking to the z-bars from now on!

Dinner tonight was Eatliverun‘s baked polenta recipe (recipe here). I didn’t make any substitutions and used Trader Joe’s Organic Spaghetti Sauce. I did only bake mine for 40 minutes but thats because it kept bubbling over and I didn’t want to have to clean the oven too much.

We had ours with a little broccoli- still on that veggie kick. This dinner was delicious- comforting but not too hearty. I’d definitely make it again 🙂

I’m off to do some homework and hopefully relax a bit- happy humpday!

Leave a comment