Apple Cinnamon Raisin Hot Multigrain Cereal

I woke up bright and early this morning ready to run. I went out and did a speedy 8 miles and was back at the apartment by 8:45. It was great but I just can’t seem to figure out this Chicago weather! My weather channel app told me it was 40 degrees but felt like 35 degrees so I dressed warm (ear warmer, gloves, jacket, etc.) and then I totally overheated on my run.

After yesterday’s delicious breakfast, all I wanted to do this morning was recreate the oatmeal. Unfortunately we’re out of eggs and our bananas are not quite ripe enough to be mixed into oats. What’s a girl to do?

Apple Cinnamon Raisin Hot Multigrain Cereal
1/2 cup multigrain cereal
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup milk
dash of salt
1 T raisins
1/2 large gala apple chopped
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 T maple syrup

Mix cereal, water, milk, and salt in small pot. Stir over medium low heat. Cut apple into small pieces and place in microwavable safe bowl. Sprinkle 1 tsp of cinnamon evenly over the apples and microwave for 90 seconds. Once cereal starts to thicken, add in apples, raisins, and cinnamon. Stir until it reaches desired consistancy. Mix in maple syrup and serve.

Yum, this was so good and light. While I love oats, I really like the chew of multigrain cereal. Definitely a nice change up.

I topped mine with some granola and sunflower butter.

Part of this complete breakfast with a side of coffee and cinnamon.

Have a great Sunday!

Leave a comment